Ever since forty knocked on my door this year, I’ve been trying to come up with something I would like to learn more about. I can’t go back to school for this “education”… it costs too much money… and time. I mean, I’m forty. I have real adult responsibilities. However, I am capable of reading and since I go through many titles a year in my spare time, I figure I can make some of those about a topic of interest. Which brings me to the purpose of this blog. I want to study “money”.

After reading Rich Dad, Poor Dad last week (because it’s required reading for a couple of my kids), I’ve decided that not only am I in the “Middle Class” (which I already knew), but I’ve bought into the middle class mentality to an extent. I didn’t realize my annual income wasn’t the only thing classifying me as “middle class”. How I handle my money and how I define assets and liabilities defines my status as well… and that’s not necessarily a good thing.

I came away from that book with the intent to become a student of money, and that is what this blog is going to be about. I’m going to share what I learn along the way. I figure the information has a greater chance of sticking in my head if I have to talk/write about it.

You probably won’t find a lot of financial-speak here, at least not until I learn “the language” myself.  I’m betting that I’ll probably sound quite ignorant even, but hey, everyone has to start somewhere right?

